• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Taking on Amazon?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

stealthone2007

New Hampshire.
Looking for legal advice. I have been an author for over ten years. My books have been read all across America and I have modest sales in a few other countries. However, Amazon is making life difficult for Independent Authors like myself. For one thing, there are many fake reviews showing up on books. Many of these are clearly from bots ( One account reviewed 100 books in a singe day). I documented a handful of them and contacted Amazon's corporate office. I received e-mails after each complaint saying Jeff Bezos received my e-mail and they would look into it. I though they would be happy that I pointed this out to them. However, they never removed the fake reviews. I was persistent because I have such good documentation. But they became hostile when I followed up. I was supposed to just get frustrated and give up, I guess. I have come to find out that many authors are complaining about this. Of course, there is a clause that states I have to go to arbitration or small claims court. Can I go after them in small claims for fraud? They know that fraudulent reviews are there but refuse to remove them. Can Amazon be compelled to remove the reviews? Even the talk show host Stephen Colbert talked about Amazon's corrupt practices regarding his book.

My questions are:

Can Amazon be compelled to remove fraudulent reviews?

Can I use discovery in small claims to get records of the book reviews regarding my books?

Thanks,

Ken

quincy

If you can get a court to order that Amazon remove the (fake) reviews, Amazon will remove them (or fight the order).