• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What should be my IRS tax return Filing Status?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tonystark8666

What is the name of your state? FL

I am a citizen of India. I have been working in USA for more than 4 years now on H1B visa. I got married in Dec'18 in India and my marital status is married since then.
My spouse came to USA on dependent visa (H4) in Feb'19, that means she was not in USA for whole year 2018. She does not has any source of income.
She does not has SSN/ITIN as of now.

Based upon above situations, do I qualify to file IRS tax returns for year 2018 as filing status 'Married Filing Jointly'.

Thanks for the suggestions.

Last edited:

LdiJ

What is the name of your state? FL

I am a citizen of India. I have been working in USA for more than 4 years now on H1B visa. I got married in Dec'18 in India and my marital status is married since then.
My spouse came to USA on dependent visa (H4) in Feb'19, that means she was not in USA for whole year 2018. She does not has any source of income.
She does not has SSN/ITIN as of now.

Based upon above situations, do I qualify to file IRS tax returns for year 2018 as filing status 'Married Filing Jointly'.

Thanks for the suggestions.
Yes, you can file married filing jointly. Your spouse was here for more than 284 days so that qualifies her as a resident for tax purposes. You would need to apply for an ITIN for her. You would send in that application with your tax return.