• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

fund distribution after closing

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

fbt607

What is the name of your state? NY

is it common for mortgage fund to take until next day of closing to be distributed?

LdiJ

What is the name of your state? NY

is it common for mortgage fund to take until next day of closing to be distributed?
With no other information regarding the circumstances I don't think that there is a clear answer to your question.

fbt607

What do you mean by "mortgage fund?"
sorry I'm not a pro in that area.

to simplify it: closed on a house but the buyer's bank did not distribute the fund from the sale yet. is that possible? because I understand the fund is distributed to seller, brokers... at the time of closing

quincy

sorry I'm not a pro in that area.

to simplify it: closed on a house but the buyer's bank did not distribute the fund from the sale yet. is that possible? because I understand the fund is distributed to seller, brokers... at the time of closing
Usually checks are disbursed at closing.

paddywakk

Sold my house on 7/3 but funds weren't transferred to my account before 7/5. Depends. Are you getting a check or EFT?

adjusterjack

The buyer's funds must be deposited in the escrow company's account before the deed can be recorded. The deed must be recorded before the funds can be disbursed to the seller.

There's enough slop in those three steps for the entire process to be completed the same day or take a couple of days depending on the timing of each step and the backlog of the recorder's office.