• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can a contracting agency give a contractor a bad reference to keep a contractor on the market?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

HighwayMan

Super Secret Senior Member
A reference is a reference. You don't know what the motivation was and there is certainly no law against giving a bad reference.

slandered

If they were actively placing me on interviews with other customers the motivation seems fairly obvious...I would like a second opinion if this is at all possible. I am not a lawyer but apart from defamation laws I am aware there are certain laws against non- competition practices. If they are giving a bad reference for the sole purpose of excluding other employers from hiring me , by falsely representing my qualifications does this not fall into this venue? I don't know, which is why I am asking.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
There are no labor laws that this violates. Labor law does not address the question of references. Your recourse, if any, will not be found in labor law.

I have yet to hear an employee acknowledge that he or she deserved a bad reference. Yet clearly some do. It's quite possible that your employer does not share your views on your qualifications.

slandered

There are no labor laws that this violates. Labor law does not address the question of references. Your recourse, if any, will not be found in labor law.

I have yet to hear an employee acknowledge that he or she deserved a bad reference. Yet clearly some do. It's quite possible that your employer does not share your views on your qualifications.

"...It's quite possible that your employer does not share your views on your qualifications..."