• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Uber refusing Toll Reimbursement

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

SuburDad

I have been an Uber driver in Massachusetts for over 3 years. There was a recent post in a local Uber Driver forum where a fellow driver pointed out that Uber had not been reimbursing them for Toll charges.

I reviewed my past trip details for the previous 2 weeks and found that about 70% of the time, Uber was not paying me for the cost incurred by traveling through tolls. These fees are charged to the passenger and Uber is supposed to reimburse the driver accordingly which they have not been doing.

After reaching out to Uber, I was informed that they can only add 3 toll reimbursements per day and that they would not reimburse any missed toll payments to me that are more than 10 days ago.

If they are knowingly pocketing the toll fee that they are supposed to be paying drivers for these tolls and will not reimburse as agreed to, what, if any, recourse do i have?

Taxing Matters

Overtaxed Member
If they are knowingly pocketing the toll fee that they are supposed to be paying drivers for these tolls and will not reimburse as agreed to, what, if any, recourse do i have?
If your contract with Uber says that Uber pays you for the tolls then your recourse is to sue Uber for the breach of contract. Otherwise, you have the customer pay the toll and don't add that to his/her trip charge with Uber.

quincy

If your contract with Uber says that Uber pays you for the tolls then your recourse is to sue Uber for the breach of contract. Otherwise, you have the customer pay the toll and don't add that to his/her trip charge with Uber.