• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How would I go about this business without assuming liability for confidentiality breaches?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

JackM678

What is the name of your state? Texas.

I'm a software developer and I'm working on a new project which has been of some interest by others who are looking for a more affordable option to staff and manage their summer camps. Camp management services can cost 5000 dollars or more for the summer, and some camps are either community camps with low or no fees, and some are organizations which rent out locations only 1-2 weeks per year, so they either use a limited tools service or they do everything either on paper or with out of the box software such as Microsoft Office.

However, I'm only willing to do it for them if there is a way to be able to get camps and parents to understand and acknowledge the personal information and medical records they are submitting to the database are all at their own risk, and that I make no representation of the application being HIPAA compliant and will not be held legally liable for any breaches, bugs, or hacks which cause any sensitive or confidential information to be stolen.

If I have to go through all those processes of conforming to HIPAA compliant software standards and paying for insurance to cover for damages that I might be responsible for, it's not worth it. Before getting an attorney to do all this paperwork after I finish designing the application, I just wanted to know if any of this is possible.

Taxing Matters

Overtaxed Member