• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Company changed name and didn't fulfill orders from previous company

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kuromi

What is the name of your state? WA

I purchased a number of store gift cards from an app. They include various brands such as Gamestop, Lowe's, Uber etc.

The app has been working for years, I have been using since 2018 or so. They were a legitimate company.

Suddenly sometime in October last year, they quietly stopped fulfilling orders. All the gift cards I previously purchased can no longer be opened.

I filed complaints with BBB, California AG and Washington AG, the company never replied. BBB shows that there are many others on the same boat.

After some research, they actually created a new app with same interface, same office location, and even the same CEO.

They are intentionally doing this to scam more people. I am out over $2000 in undelivered gift cards. I sent them a demand letter by USPS certified mail, and they cleverly returned it to sender.

What is my best option now? Small claims or find an attorney to start a class action?

quincy

What is the name of your state? WA

I purchased a number of store gift cards from an app. They include various brands such as Gamestop, Lowe's, Uber etc.

The app has been working for years, I have been using since 2018 or so. They were a legitimate company.

Suddenly sometime in October last year, they quietly stopped fulfilling orders. All the gift cards I previously purchased can no longer be opened.

I filed complaints with BBB, California AG and Washington AG, the company never replied. BBB shows that there are many others on the same boat.