• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Police Officer on Coumadin Needs Help!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

T

TPD

What is the name of your state? FL

I am a police officer in Florida. Recently, and as the result of an on duty injury, I suffered a pulmonary embolism. Subsequently, I am faced with the possibility of life-long Coumadin (blood-thinner) therapy. I'm afraid my agency will not let me continue my active-duty employment due to my increased risk of "bleeding-to-death!" I want to continue my career; I love my job and it is my life! If, in a worst case scenario, I am advised to take Coumadin "forever," can they make me quit (fire me)? I have already stated, to anyone who will listen, I am willing to accept the increased risk, its a risky job anyway! I am fully capable of performing the duties my job requires (I'm a very physically fit individual). I have been in law enforcement for 14 years, 9 with my current agency...

Thank you,
Ray

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

TPD said:
What is the name of your state? FL