• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Case for wrongful termination?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mrkraftjr

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Virginia

I am a medical professional with a federal agency. As part of gaining employment processing applicants must complete and "pass" both a medical/psychological and security evaluation for a clearance.

In the Fall of last year the son of the Director of Security (i.e. the person in charge of all staff and applicant security clearance issues) processed as an applicant. He was disqualified on psychological grounds by an examining psychologist and later confirmed by a reviewing psychiatrist. At the time I was in a position within the Security chain of command. My immediate boss came to me and asked me to intervene with the medical office to overturn the disqualification since this was the son of her (and my) boss. I refused and said stated it would be unethical for me to intervene in that manner.

I will state also that up to this time I had 17 years of excellent performance reviews, promotions, and awards, and zero disciplinary issues ever.

Within a matter of months a security investigation of me was instituted (by the same office of security). They stated that after "reviewing" my computer use in detail I had accessed files I should not have (a claim that is vague, trumped up, and ultimately false), even though I only accessed programs that I had access to as part of my daily duties.

I was then placed on administrative leave by the same Director of Security whose son I refused to intervene with and am now potentially facing termination or at least some form of disciplinary action.