• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Default Asked to Fill Out 1099 2 Months After Quiting

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

snick28

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? AZ

Hi and thanks!

I worked as a bike courier for about 4 months this summer/fall. Never filled out any paperwork. All cash under the table. Now 2 months after quiting I'm being asked for my SSN for 1099 purposes. I'm hesitatn to give this out since they were quite opposed to my leaving for a new job, and I haven't heard from them since.

Can they legally ask me to do paperwork they should have had me complete months ago before I started the job? I started in July 2017 and quite in November 2017.

Thanks!

LdiJ

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? AZ

Hi and thanks!

I worked as a bike courier for about 4 months this summer/fall. Never filled out any paperwork. All cash under the table. Now 2 months after quiting I'm being asked for my SSN for 1099 purposes. I'm hesitatn to give this out since they were quite opposed to my leaving for a new job, and I haven't heard from them since.

Can they legally ask me to do paperwork they should have had me complete months ago before I started the job? I started in July 2017 and quite in November 2017.

Thanks!
Do you have any record of how much you were actually paid? You have an obligation to report that income on your tax return whether you were paid in cash or not.

I too would be nervous about giving out my SSN to someone who initially was not interested in having it, and is now angry at me and wants it. However, I would want to know how much you actually made before commenting further.

eerelations