• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations Question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

danasb

What is the name of your state? Michigan
I am a bus driver in the state of Michigan. I have worked for my company for almost 9 years. Within the last couple of years I was diagnosed with Diabetes. Up until recently I was taking oral medications to try to control my sugar levels. A couple months ago I was placed on Insulin since my levels were high. My company sent me to the company doctor. He disqualified me from driving and placed me as unfit for duty. I spoke with my employer regarding this and he has told me that I have no choice but to quit my job. I started reading the FMCS handbook and This is what I have found. 391.43 Diabetes. If insulin is necessary to control a diabetic driver's condition, the driver is not qualified to operate a commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce. If mild diabetes is present and it is controlled by use of an oral hypoglycemic drug and/or diet and exercise, it should not be considered disqualifying. However, the driver must remain under adequate medical supervision.

The company that I work for has 1 bus that leaves the state of Michigan, therefore they have only 1 run that would be considered as Interstate, all of the rest would be considered Intrastate. The bid run that I have been on does not leave the state at anytime. If I am reading this correctly, shouldn't I be disqualified from that 1 run only and not from the entire company and not lose my job? If anyone can help me with this please let me know. Thank You.

racer72