• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Position eliminated but not laid off

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bayareaworker

Hi,
I work for a respected software company in the valley which is a household brand name. I've been here almost 5 years now and over the past 5 years have grown quite a bit (Have been promoted twice). I'm currently a engineering manager and have been in my role since 1.5 years and over this period have delivered good (if not strong) results. My annual performance review(happened recently) has also captured that my performance was strong.

3 months back, due to a larger reorganization, a new Director come to our team replacing my boss's boss. He decided to let go of my boss and so I started directly reporting to this new boss.

Soon after that, he decided to extend the team by bringing a manager and engineers (locally here in valley)from a different team reporting to him and also hiring a new manager (offshore). At that time, I mentioned to him that there will be overlap of responsibilities and that we should rather be investing in my team (growing its size) to take on newer work.

Now, 2 weeks back he told me that he believes there is overlap of work going forward between the two engineering teams (mine and the new manager that he added here in valley) and he wants to consolidate the two teams under this new guy and asked me to start transition all my responsibilties to this new guy ASAP. When I asked him why not consolidate the two teams under me, he told me that this person has more experience than I do.