• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Visa Waiver Program Question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

airmack

Florida, My question is my girlfriend is coming over on the Visa Waiver Program, I am a US citizen. We would like to get married. She is planning on going back to her country as she has her own place and needs time to sell her car, home belongings,.... Can we get married and her go back home a file for Adjustment of Status? . If so, can she return to the states using Visa waiver program until the process of Adjustment of Status is complete? I am new to all this and really dont know the best method..thanks for any help.

evcalyptos

Florida, My question is my girlfriend is coming over on the Visa Waiver Program, I am a US citizen. We would like to get married. She is planning on going back to her country as she has her own place and needs time to sell her car, home belongings,.... Can we get married and her go back home a file for Adjustment of Status? . If so, can she return to the states using Visa waiver program until the process of Adjustment of Status is complete? I am new to all this and really dont know the best method..thanks for any help.
The process called adjustment of status is ONLY for people who will remain in the US while their case is processing.
The visa waiver (or visitor visa) program is NOT a legitimate way to immigrate. Entry as a visitor with the intent to file for AOS is illegal.

You can marry while she is visiting, and lodge the first part of the paperwork during her visit (petition I-130). When that is approved, your wife will be invited to apply for a visa in her home country.