• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Reasonable accommodation?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Pacer41

State: OHIO

I am a 57 year-old female who was diagnosed with Stage 2 Hypertension in November 2011. I control BP with medication, however, stress is the major contributing factor at this point in time. I hold an exempt managerial position at a large company. Typically, exempt employees at this company are expected to put in between 50-55 hrs per week. I have been doing that for the past 11 years with this company. Mr doctor has restricted my hours to 40 max per week. As a result, I requested some modification in the reporting structure of a portion of those direct reports I have. I was told by my new manager that she would need to think about it, but that actually, she had been considering adding MORE responsibilities and reportees to my position. Company management is aware of my serious health condition. Did I ask for something not reasonable?:(

Beth3

Nobody but your own employer would know what constitutes a reasonable accommodation. We don't know what position you hold, what your job responsibilities are, what the workload is, what the workload of your department and co-workers are, the economic conditions your employer may be laboring under (i.e. a hiring freeze), and so on.

If you have a human resources representative, I suggest you speak to them as well about your medical condition and request for accommodation.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl