• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I got curbstoned, or something like it (Arizona)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

TommyT

This is not my finest moment. It happened so fast, this is my first time buying a car on my own, but no excuses. I don't know yet whether I have a lemon - but here's my story:

I've been without a car for a few weeks. I have an old car that I recently had towed to a storage unit - it was not running, no obvious diagnosis, I was reluctant to put more money into it because it has no resale value. The plan was to buy a new car, then figure out what to do with my existing car.

I responded to a Craigslist ad yesterday. Nice looking car. Below KBB value by 25% (assuming Good condition). It's the type of car that would typically sell quick. It was pictured in front of a residence. Nothing sketchy about the ad. I set up a time to see it. Communication via text message.

Seller proposes we meet at a McDonalds. Location was convenient for me. I checked the car out, drove it, it drove well. Seller says he is selling because he just bought a new truck. The dealer offered to give him a trade in offer - but obviously only suckers do trade-ins.

There were small things that seemed off. Temp license plate, corner lamp assembly missing ($20 fix, why wouldn't he want to fix it), windshield washer fluid compartment was torn up - I don't care about the windshield washer fluid, but that went against the well cared for image I had been given.