• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

real estate contract from local real estate board office

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

BradleyS

What is the name of your state? Kansas

I am a real estate broker and I use contracts that are provided by our local board office. The contracts are fill in the blanks.

The contract reads "This is a legally binding agreement, please consult an attorney before signing."

I recently lost a court case. The jury ruled the even though the corntract was signed, it was NOT BINDING, because the signed contract was not immediately delivered back to the buyer.

I don't believe there is any KS Statute besides the UCC Statute on contracts that describe the "time is of the essance" scenario. Is there?

The UCC Statute states a reasonable amount of time for delivery.

The Pattern Instructions for Jury's in Kansas PIK 124.04 states that a contract is not effective until the acceptance of the offer must be communicated back to the offerer.

Since there was only one agent involved, and the signed contract was given to that agent without any written conditions, shouldn't this make the contract effective, using the PIK 124.04???

The seller wanted to accept another offer that was submitted after he signed another. "Seller's remorse"

The seller demanded that I destroy the contract so he could accept the higher offer, I wouldn't.

I told a principal that he signed the contract and it was binding, and the earnest money was deposited with the contract at the title company before any knowledge of any other offer. I advised him if he wanted to break the contract that he should consult an attorney.

The question is ---