• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Father passed away 1 week ago - Has wife committed fraud?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

renee_rn

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Georgia

My dad has been married to Linda for 4 years. He has been a healthy man until February. Linda took him to the ER for altered mental status on 2/5/18. He was diagnosed with non-small cell lung cancer with metastasis to the brain. He had 2 lesions on the brain measuring approx. 4 cm each. The areas of the brain involving the lesions were the right temporal lobe and then the posterior frontal anterior parietal lobe. I am a nurse and these areas of the brain control things like: behavior, memory and vision. He was discharged on 2/18/18 against Linda's request. She wanted him placed in a nursing home but he had no qualifying factors for insurance to pay for a nursing home or rehab. My dad had made a good bit of improvement with steroids and was able to care for himself though he continued to have issues with some confusion.

On 2/10/18 while still hospitalized, Linda had my dad sign a "financial" Power of Attorney which was witnessed by Linda's daughter. Also on this day, she had my dad sign a Will which was witnessed again by her daughter and her sister. I am sure she found these blank documents on the internet. So her daughter and sister witnessed both documents on 2/10/18 but the Notary signed the documents on 2/13/18 so these signatures were not witnessed by the notary.