• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Statute of limitations on receiving proceeds from mother's estate

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

family_feud

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Arizona
Mom lived and died in AZ, will administered in AZ, I am a resident of NY

Hello everyone,
I hope I'm posting in the right forum.

TLDR: 1. my (estate admin.) brother refuses to communicate with me regarding the proceeds of the sale of our mother's house and the disposition of other assets.
2. There has been a period of silence between us: 4 years
3. Three beneficiaries, brothers one AZ resident, one CA resident, and me NY resident.
4. I'm fear that AZ brother/executor is attempting to outright steal my share of the proceeds due to a long period of non-communication and statute of limitations.

Hello,
I'm hoping someone out there might be able to offer me a kernel of hope with a situation that I really wish I didn't have to be dealing with.

Almost 10 years ago my mom died after about a year of illness after a botched surgery left her with very limited lung capacity. I moved from New York to Arizona to take care of her for that year because she couldn't live by herself anymore. I'm very glad that I had that time with her and I miss her every day.

I have two older brothers, one lives a couple hours away from her then- in the Phoenix area and the eldest lives in San Diego.

For the most part, they left the care of mom to me and I had medical power of attorney signed over to me so that I could make decisions about her care.