• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

AWOL returnee story -

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

iescaped

Just a quick message for all those concerned AWOL citizens out there -

I went awol 22 May 2005, stayed away until 18 July 2005. I graduated basic training from Ft. Leonardwood, and was a hold over. The army tried to reclass me into a job that I DID NOT want, and I was going through a plethera of family problems. I talked to my drill seargent(s), and was recommended for a ELS. It was denied by my command. I talked to the chaplin, who in my company was really great, but could do nothing about it. So, I left. I called the Deserters Hotline, about 4-5 times until I got the same answers (that i was dropped from the rolls), then took a bus to Ft. Sill.
I arrived at Ft. Sill around 10 A.M. but did not turn myself in immediately. Instead, I went to the mall and saw a movie. :) (Just in case i was going to jail, i figured "Why not?" Besides that, I had been hiding inside for 60 days)
I did turn myself in around 4 P.M. The M.P.'s were cordial and polite. I did get searched and handcuffed. (First time for everything) I was then dropped off at the "PCF" or Personel Control Facility. I went inside and had to do a little paperwork.

On a new note - The PCF has gone over to civilian control. The civilians are not too bad. They just expect you to work. Don't give them any sh*t, and they won't give you any. You get plenty of breaks, and a nice thing (in my eyes) is that you are allowed to bring tobacco. They do not take it from you.