• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Shoplifting

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lanisillygoose

What is the name of your state?I live in California, and was "caught" shoplifting, and even though I didn't do it on purpose, and offered to pay for it, they went ahead and prosecuted. The sherrif didn't book me or anything but he did read me my miranda rights. This is my firt offense, I am a good student. But no one believes that I am innocent of the crime that they are trying to convict me of. I want to know, if my own parents don't believe me, would the courts? Should I plead guilty or fight?

seniorjudge

Since you gave us no facts, no one can tell you how to plead or whether you would win.

However, if you do give us complete details and facts, we can venture some opinions.

lanisillygoose