• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Student Loan Defaul/Collections/Garnishment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

robin2660

Hello,
I graduated from professional school 6 years ago and suffered personal and emotional setbacks including midlife crisis (uncertainty of career choice), depression, and drug/alcohol abuse that also caused an end to a long-term relationship, which viciously cycled upon itself. In the process I simply ignored letters and phone calls from the creditors and Dept. of Education - I didn't open them for years, not even the ones stating that I was going into default and garnishment.
Now I owe nearly a quarter million dollars after interest and penalties.
I am 45 y.o., have no assets and am working in a low-paying job making less than $35K with no benefits. To be able to work in the field of my professional training (Chiropractic) will take some time since I must make up continuing education credits and get licensed.
I need advice badly. I need to know there's hope. Who do I talk to? What can be done to bring this debt within range that I can hopefully pay in my lifetime and still be able to build a decent life (what's left)? I want to fix this.
Any and all help and advice will be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Robin (in Illinois)
[email protected]

Well, your first mistake was ignoring the letters. Student loan debt will never, ever go away, unless you die or become totally & perm. disabled. Getting them kicked in bankruptcy is tough, and that is a major understatement.

As a former debt collector who specialized in student loans, I will tell you ignorning it was your first major mistake.