• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Summons for Debt in TEXAS

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mctexas

What is the name of your state? TX
Ok, I am new at this. I posted at the end of Marchita25 thread.... maybe I did it wrong. Here is my situation:
I received a summons today for "request for disclosures and request for admissions"
it is regarding a CC debt for $8752.52 and addtl "reasonable" attorney's fees for $2917.51. They have named my father and myself as defendant. I got a chance to speak with my dad and he told me that he took out the card a while back... and decided to request an addt'l card for me. I do not recall ever signing anything, nor ever using the card issued to me. My father confirmed that. What should I do????. Technically the card does not belong to me. I do not know what to do. I mentioned the "fraud" scenario with my dad and he is willing to take full responsibility for it, but I really would hate to put him in a tight spot. Please anyone HELP!!!!!!:(

mctexas