• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

subpoena rights?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

laniec

I think I am going to set a subpoena regarding a lawsuit between an old employer and their agent. I was an accountant at the company. (not an officer) The subpoena will come from Minnesota and I live in California. Questions- Can they make me go to Minnesota for a deposition and/or trial? If yes will they have to pay for all travel and time off work? Can I make them depose me near my home? Any hope of getting out of this? Will I need an attorney even though I don't know anything and it was from over two years ago? Any help would be appreciated.

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

laniec said:
I think I am going to set a subpoena regarding a lawsuit between an old employer and their agent. I was an accountant at the company. (not an officer) The subpoena will come from Minnesota and I live in California. Questions- Can they make me go to Minnesota for a deposition and/or trial? If yes will they have to pay for all travel and time off work? Can I make them depose me near my home? Any hope of getting out of this? Will I need an attorney even though I don't know anything and it was from over two years ago? Any help would be appreciated.
My response:

What does this mean:

"I think I am going to set a subpoena regarding a lawsuit between an old employer and their agent."

IAAL

L

laniec