• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can CA business sue out of state business that distributes internationall?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

hastings1066

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am a graphic designer in California who was hired to design artwork for a film distributor located in Arkansas (they purchase and distribute films internationally). They have cut off contact with me leaving several invoices unpaid after approving and taking possession of the artwork. Can I sue the company (and possibly the individuals that specifically contracted my work) in my local small claims court and have them served in Arkansas?

FlyingRon

That they deal internationally is really immaterial. Note that if you ask the court to serve, they will send the papers by mail with return receipt and that's subject to failure. If that doesn't work you're going to really have to try personal service, which for all intents and purposes means you will have to pay a process server.

If this is a corporation, you'll have to find out who their registered agent is to do service to. You likely can talk to the whatever Arkansas entity handles corporate registrations to figure out who that is (presuming they're incorporated in that state).

Of course, absent any real presence in California, collecting on a California small claims judgement is probably pretty futile.

justalayman

Unless I'm mistaken, regarding California small claims court;

The defendant must be served within the state of California. If I'm correct it would preclude you from fulfilling your plan.

FlyingRon

Unless I'm mistaken, regarding California small claims court;