• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Demand And Order To Remove Case

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jrider

I'm a field service tech. In the contract I hired in with, my travel was paid hourly door to door, even at over time rate if I'm 40+ hours. There were no issues for 2yrs, then a new director of operations was hired in. He decided to instate a new policy that 1 hour of travel would be deducted in pay each day. I did not sign any agreements or accept this new policy change. I was vocal about it and nothing changed. The new director of operations wanted to show his value to the owner of the company. I left the company shortly after, as did 4 of my coworkers (for the same reason).

PayrollHRGuy

Your employer didn't deduct anything. They simply changed what they paid you for. And the way they changed it is in keeping with the US Department of Labor Wage & Hour Division regulations.

From https://www.dol.gov/whd/opinion/FLSA/2018/2018_04_12_02_FLSA.pdf

...compensable worktime generally does not include time spent commuting between home and work, even when the employee works at different job sites. See 29 U.S.C. § 254(a); 29 C.F.R. § 785.35

PayrollHRGuy

That depends on what the contract says and if it even rises to the level of a contract.

But this is why the MI DOL wanted nothing to do with the case. Your employer didn't find a loophole. Neither the state or federal DOLs deal with contract disputes.

jrider

So back to my first question I had this morning. Do I need to file any paperwork or forms to get a civil hearing date set?

jrider