• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Jointly and Severally Liable Question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jkbcash

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Georgia

Hi. I am involved in a lawsuit where I am one of the defendants. I am a real estate agent and represented the buyer who is the plaintiff. The seller of the house was supposed to make repairs to the house that I sold to the plaintiff, however, failed to do so. In an attempt to salvage the deal I told my client/plaintiff I would pay for the repairs in the event they could not get the seller to make the repairs. The seller did not make the repairs and 2 years my client is suing me for the repairs. I made the mistake of signing an agreement acknowledging I would make the repairs. I admit I made a mistake, however the plaintiff asked me for a sum of money that was well over what it would take to make the repairs. The plaintiff is suing myself and the brokerage I was working for at the time. The agreement was drawn up on a loose-leaf piece of paper outside of any real estate form, and my old brokerage was not aware of the agreement, nor were they mentioned in anywhere on the agreement.

The plaintiff is saying that the brokerage is jointly and severally liable for the payment of the repairs. Are they correct? If the brokerage had no knowledge of the agreement and were not mentioned in the agreement, how could they be held jointly and severally liable?

Thank you in advance for any help or light you are able to shed on this.

Justin

HRZ

THe prior brokerage firm needs to sort out its own exposure...you would be best to focus on your personal exposure .