• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

My employer says I/O her for grand is she right ?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Howardc2

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Ohio So here’s the situation;

I’ve been working for this company since May 2017, upon getting my first check I noticed that there was extra money deposited to my account but didn’t know why. i Contacted my supervisor to tell her/ask her what Happened and where’s the money came from. She told me she called the owner and let her know and the owner said something along the lines of “I can’t be bothered with a hundred dollars” so okay whatever I don’t do anything. Next week it happens again and I tell her again. Once again she can’t be bothered with it. This continues to happen and I continue to tell my supervisor until about a week ago. The money that was being deposited was someone else’s paycheck. They were receiving statement but didn’t realize they weren’t getting money the whole time. Now she wants to take me to small claims court. I’m 20 and go to college I don’t own any property and I do not have the money to pay her back. I offered to set up payments until I can pay her back but she said it wasn’t fair to the other employee. But I would have to make payments if I was found guilty through the court anyways? What should I do? Should I get a lawyer? should I be worried? Am at fault? I felt like I did everything I was able to. And just this last week after all of this happened they changed me to direct deposit, I got the stub saying it was in direct deposit but the money was never deposited.

HRZ

Your employer owes the other employee timely pay