• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Loan or Production Money?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

GoodDad2012

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Oregon

Greetings. I had such a great response to another legal matter I thought I'd throw this out there.

I am a music producer and have a good track record with no lawsuits. Except now. A singer I was working with in 2011 gave me $6000 paid out over 3 months. I admit to writing the memo deal as a "loan" with a hefty interest that she now claims is $6k principal and $2k interest. Here are the issues: we both referred to it as an investment because I was working on some online web/music applications and we also have in the agreement that the payments and amount owed would be in consideration against musical services (production, recording, etc.) I co-wrote and produced a number of songs for her, recorded her, arranged and created the tracks, edited and remixed one of my own musical pieces for a special performance of hers, rehearsed with her, coached her for live performances, performed keyboards for her, helped her create a website, and introduced her to various industry friends. Most of the work is unfinished because she was often unavailable to do final vocals or respond promptly to book studio time. I have all of this as evidence and it's impressive. Additionally, as part of our deal and my "spec work," I had also part of the rights to the songs we worked on.