• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Attempt by State of XX (not ORegon) to extort taxes from OR resident/business owner

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Oregon-resident

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Oregon

I've been a resident of Oregon for 35 years, and have filed my taxes as such in Oregon for all 35 years. It appears that State XX got Federal Form 1099 records filed by a XX company to which I bring business for and from which I receive commissions. I received a Request for Tax Return from XX's State Tax Board notifying me that I failed to file XX taxes in 2016 and included a very intimidating form demanding for 2017 most all the info one must provide on a 1040.

The Supreme Court has ruled that two states cannot tax the same income. Oregon is very clear that I live in Oregon, I make all my income from doing business in Oregon and I darn well better pay my state income taxes to Oregon.

My inclination is to provide the state of XX my name, my Oregon address and make it clear I've not lived in nor conducted business in XX for 35 years and feel no obligation to provide answers to questions XX has no legal right to ask of me.

My questions are
- am I obligated by any law to answer to the state of XX at all?
- if I do respond is what I want to provide, noted in the paragraph above, sufficient?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
You sure are taking an adversarial position for something that can easily be solved with some simple conversation. Don't ignore this...CONTACT state XX.

HRZ