• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

1099 help

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

username17

Hi,

I live in Vermont, and have been working for a start-up here.

I've just been reciving straight checks from my employers checking account.

I understand that by definition i'm a contractor.... and will have to pay taxes thru a 1099 of sorts.

My question is:

-Don't I need to report income quarterly to pay taxes to avoid a penalty.
-Do I need anything from my employer to do this?
-What about a Vermont State taxes?

Thanks!

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
Hi,

I understand that by definition i'm a contractor.... and will have to pay taxes thru a 1099 of sorts.

My question is:

-Don't I need to report income quarterly to pay taxes to avoid a penalty.
-Do I need anything from my employer to do this?

Thanks!
Let's work on your employment status. What, exactly, are your job duties?

adjusterjack

Don't I need to report income quarterly to pay taxes to avoid a penalty.
Yes.

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040es.pdf
Do I need anything from my employer to do this?
No. But I hope you make copies of the checks before you cash them.

What about a Vermont State taxes?
The state income tax website will tell you all you need to know:

https://tax.vermont.gov/individuals
I understand that by definition i'm a contractor
Maybe yes, maybe no. Answer Zigner's question and let's look into that.

Taxing Matters

Overtaxed Member
Hi,