• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

20 year old Florida judgment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jeho1987

What is the name of your state? New York
I am a resident of New York State, and have lived in New York for the past 30 years. A couple of months ago, I received a letter from my bank stating that my account was frozen due to a garnishment. I found out that a judgment was entered against me in Florida in 1998. This was from a car loan dating back to 1996 when I voluntarily returned the car when I fell on hard times and could no longer afford to keep it. Shortly after I moved to New York. I contacted the FL court and also went online to view court documents. The judgment was entered because I did not show up for the court hearing which i did not know about. The lawyer who also turns out to be the debt collector/Plaintiff who purchased the debt, is now suing me for over 5x the original amount of the claim. I was able to file an exemption to have my account released (they were able to freeze my account because the bank also has branches in FL). I filed a motion pro se to have the judgment vacated but that was denied because the lawyer produced a notice of repossession and right to redeem from the bank and an affidavit of service which state that i was served in NY in 1998. The judgment expired 2 months ago on the 20 year mark, but I see online that the lawyer has filed to extend the judgment and that a 20 days summons has been issued. My question is can the judgment be extended and can I be sued in New York? What are my options? Thanks.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney