• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

answers

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

R

rolee

You have been a great help to me regarding my defense of a civil judgment. I filed a 'Motion To Vacate Default Judgment'. The Judge granted me 20 days to answer to the suit filed against me. (Reposession of vehicle in 1994). I purchased the vehicle in Mississippi, while I was a resident of Ms. then moved to N.J. At the motion hearing the judge asked what my defense would be, I told him of the 3 year sol in Mississippi. The opposing lawyer seemed to think it did not matter where the vehicle was purchased and the contract was signed(Mississippi). Do I have a legitimate case? The last payment was made in September of 1994.

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

rolee said:
You have been a great help to me regarding my defense of a civil judgment. I filed a 'Motion To Vacate Default Judgment'. The Judge granted me 20 days to answer to the suit filed against me. (Reposession of vehicle in 1994). I purchased the vehicle in Mississippi, while I was a resident of Ms. then moved to N.J. At the motion hearing the judge asked what my defense would be, I told him of the 3 year sol in Mississippi. The opposing lawyer seemed to think it did not matter where the vehicle was purchased and the contract was signed(Mississippi). Do I have a legitimate case? The last payment was made in September of 1994.
My response:

Great going !! Good work !!

Of course opposing counsel is going to poo-poo your defense in front of the judge. What else was he supposed to do ? He's got to keep "face" doesn't he ?