• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

approved SSDI, denied STD/LTD ...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

pooh1965

(Arizona)... Hi. I recently was approved for SSDI. However, I have been fighting for my STD/LTD thru my employer for the past nine months. They keep denying me stating I do not meet the definition of disability. They have never requested an IME. SSDI did however, request a consultative exam, of which I completely complied with. Regardless of what my physicians, therapists and other treating MD's state, my STD/LTD uphold their decisions. Now that I have been approved for SSDI and meet the definition of disability, what are the chances this approval could/would overturn my claim for STD/LTD thru my employer ? (they have been acting in bad faith, however this is an ERISA case, and I have yet to find representation willing to assist me).... any suggestions ? thank you for your replies....

Beth3

Each disability plan has it's own definition of disability. It's entirely possible to be considered disabled under one plan but not another.

From my experience (I'm a senior HR generalist), social security has a more stringent definition than most employer-sponsored disability plans, so it is odd that you'd be accepted for SSDI but not STD and LTD. However it all depends upon the language in your company's plan documents. Being accepted for SSDI is not necessarily relevant to being considered disabled for your employer's plans but it does make their decision to deny benefits increasingly questionable.