• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

bad employment reference hurting job hunt

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

mslani

I was an office manager for a company which had 40+ independent contractors and between 3 and 4 office staff. The owner of the company and I had become friends throughout my 2+ years on the job. He knew I was going through a bad divorce and needed to move. He had a house he was willing to rent to me and did so at a greatly discounted price without a contract or deposit. This was not connected to my job. I was to manage the rent/repairs/payments on the house I was renting and one other house he had rented out. Well, I really screwed up and ended up taking money from the property management money when I was desparate etc. I finally wrote a letter to my boss telling him what I had done and gave my 2 weeks notice at work and also stated that I was giving my notice at work. He at first refused my resignation saying we would work it out. Then he decided that he couldn't trust me and that he would accept my resignation. I have repaid part of what I owe him, and the rest I signed a note for, to be taken out of my profit sharing plan when it becomes eligible for withdrawal next year.

The problem is, when anyone that I have applied to for a job asks why I left his employment, he proceeds to tell them the whole story. He admits that I am in the top 97% of workers in the County, very reliable on the job, hard working, etc. But, he insists on sharing the details of what happened between he and I on a personal level.