• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Being Sued by Formar Employer?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

AngryBirdNJ

Being Sued by Former Employer?

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on here and this one is a doozy:

In late June I accepted a position with a company as a freelance media manager in which had I passed a 2 month probationary period I would become an official employee. After signing the offer letter, I noticed the date was incorrect and asked that it be changed. My request went ignored but, I thought nothing of it. Only a WEEK after working as a freelancer my boss decided to make me a full time employee. In my contract it states that after the 2 month probationary period/becoming a full time employee I would receive a bonus. I was told it was "unfair to other employees" to receive a bonus so soon (despite the great job I was doing only after a week) and would have to wait two months. Fine.