• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

benefits

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

hsmyth

so this may be an odd question but here goes
I work in the hospitality industry I have been with the same company for 7 years
recently the company owner who is of indian descent recently he hired a few indian families he puts them up rent free pays there electric gas sewer water cable internet purchased them a tv a computer freezer beds and so on plus pays them a salary me ant the rest of my coworkers are not of indian descent we only receive hourly wage no benefits are we being discriminated against?

quincy

so this may be an odd question but here goes
I work in the hospitality industry I have been with the same company for 7 years
recently the company owner who is of indian descent recently he hired a few indian families he puts them up rent free pays there electric gas sewer water cable internet purchased them a tv a computer freezer beds and so on plus pays them a salary me ant the rest of my coworkers are not of indian descent we only receive hourly wage no benefits are we being discriminated against?
Are they his family members?

quincy

From what you have said, it appears that your employer is showing favoritism to those of Indian descent (like himself) but, because I know nothing of the “whys” behind this disparate treatment, I cannot tell you if there is any illegal discrimination.

quincy

yeah this is a bit more difficult than a cut and dry situation but I thank you for your time
You’re welcome, hsmyth. I appreciate the thanks. Sorry I cannot provide you with a clear answer to your question.

hsmyth