• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

best option for owed taxes

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

pranaman

Hi, I live in California, am mostly self-employed. I've been working on my 2018 taxes, and using tax.creditkarma.com and turbotax.com. I've been comparing entries in both to see which would be better. I did it myself and had 4 sources of income.

I work in tech, and don't have a lot of expenses. After deductions, it looked like I would owe $12k, and filed a Federal and State extension yesterday. I haven't paid anything yet.

Income is roughly as shows:
checks, credit cards, wire transfers30000
2 1099-MISCs20000
paypal*7000
W-21700
total~60000
*I haven't entered that yet.

I have some small investments, I didn't even list them in either program:
~$100 in an IRA
$500 in fundrise.com
$100 in swell.com

Through turbotax I was able to speak with a CPA, and she showed me options if I invest in either a Roth, SEP, and Keogh IRA, I could save a little bit. I learned that the Roth option expired 4/15, but the other I have until later.

Seems it's a 10:1 ratio, that is, if I put in 10k, I can save 1k on my taxes.

I've been interested in buying a house, and was told it's advantageous to show more on my tax returns, although, I want to pay as little taxes as possible. I will most likely use the installment plan.

I don't want much, if any penalties, and of course, have proper investments.

Have I missed anything to lower my 2018 taxes and keep my penalties low? What can I do to keep my penalties down?

Taxing Matters

Overtaxed Member