• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Best way to make a living trust

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

I am sure this question has been asked before. I have no knowledge in this regard. My needs are relatively simple. There are many online sites that offer services to make living trusts. Can I do this with online sites? Also, most of these services are based on an annual plan. Why is an annual plan necessary?

adjusterjack

My needs are relatively simple.
Then maybe you don't need a trust.

How old are you?
Are you married?
Have children?
Own a home?
Have investments?
What state do you live in?

Can I do this with online sites?
If you want to.

Also, most of these services are based on an annual plan. Why is an annual plan necessary?
I have no idea what you mean by annual plan. Provide a link to one of those sites so we can see what they are talking about.

TrustUser

i have never heard of an annual plan, either. but i am guessing that they charge an annual fee to keep the trust up to date, or something to that effect. if written correctly, there is no need for "annual" maintenance.

there are plenty of local lawyers that do basic trusts for people, somewhat inexpensively. they tend to hold seminars, where that is a major part of their business. that sort of trust is probably satisfactory for the vast majority of people.

Taxing Matters

Overtaxed Member
I am sure this question has been asked before. I have no knowledge in this regard. My needs are relatively simple. There are many online sites that offer services to make living trusts. Can I do this with online sites? Also, most of these services are based on an annual plan. Why is an annual plan necessary?