• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Breaking a lease when there is no lease? (old lease expired and we never re-signed)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

emilyx46

Hello everyone! I'm new here, I just signed up on this forum to hopefully get some advice on my current situation!

Starting with a backstory, I’m 24 years old, and I run my own business and work from home. Last year I graduated college, and as of right now I am fortunate enough that I am able to make good money from the business that I had started. My boyfriend, on the other hand, has been without a job for 2 years. For those 2 years I have been paying the rent fully, as well as any other expenses. He has had a drug problem in the past (10+ years ago) and when we had gotten together I thought he was rehabilitated, I was young and didn’t really realize. Unfortunately he relapsed and has been on and off of drugs the past two years. Any sane person would ask why I have stayed so long, but to be honest I kept being hopeful that I could help and try and change him and help him get better, but I have just about had enough.