• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I maintain STD Insurance after leaving job?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

scullyx1

:confused: I'm a Maryland Resident living in the UK working for a US contractor for the US government on a US facility. I am currently employed by a company in Virginia, and am planning to take a US government job overseas in the next month. I am currently 17 weeks pregnant. My question is this: If I accept this new job, I will no longer be entitled to the 12 weeks unpaid leave (Family medical leave act), and US govt employment benefits do not include STD insurance. I want to find out if my current company paid STD insurance is able to be included under the COBRA for health/dental insurance (I would pay a monthly premium to maintain it until I no longer needed it), or if there other financially viable ways to make sure that I still receive an income if I take 3 months off for maternity leave. I won't have enough time to build up sick or vacation time to allow me to take the full three months off with pay... I'm sure this is probably delving into several problem areas, but appreciate your assistance.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
In 25 years of administering employer sponsored benefit plans, I have never seen or heard of an STD plan that was convertable or that had a continuation clause. Nothing in COBRA requires an employer to include STD plans in the plans that are available after termination.

A definite answer will depend on the terms of your employer's plans, but I wouldn't hold my breath waiting on a favorable answer.

justalayman

make sure that I still receive an income if I take 3 months off for maternity leave