• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I prosecute?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New Mexico

We had a bit of a shock recently as our District Attorney, citing an overwhelming workload, told us that as Police Officers we would be conducting our own prosecutions on misdemeanor cases. They would still be dealing with felonies.

Now my question is:
I'm a Police Officer not an attorney. Can I legally be a prosecutor in a New Mexico Magistrate Court?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Of course you can. There is no legal impediment. Make sure you do your job well. Be brave, upright, thrifty and considerate of the rights of those accused.

Don't default to the cop being right. LISTEN. THINK. Be what needs to be.
Your call.

latigo

That is the stupidest thing I’ve heard yet!

Aside from the fact that a layperson cannot appear in court representing any one or any thing but him or her, how could a police officer prosecute a person for a criminal act and yet be a witness for the party he is representing - the state of New Mexico.

Get on the phone to the state Attorney General 1-800-678-1508.

csi7

Report this to the State Attorney office. Is the state law enforcement office aware of this information? You are certified as a law enforcement official, and there are certain rules that apply strictly to your license requirements.

That is the stupidest thing I’ve heard yet!