• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

can I turn myself in for disability fraud? what would be the consequences?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

robert236

I've been disabled for my entire adult life

Never able to pay for anything and I really really struggled to get disability and then I finally got it at 27

I started trading and investing in cryptocurrencies as a hobby never thinking it was going to lead to anything so I just stayed on disability. I had the comfort of having health insurance. even though I was making money in crypto, it didnt feel real to me..like not real money. I never withdrew it.

a couple years passed and suddenly I've made tons of money in crypto.
I want to pay the govt back because I dont need the extra money
I want to go to the social security office and pay them, even pay them extra
but I'm afraid I'll get into legal trouble reporting myself
is there leniency for reporting myself and backpaying extra?
what steps should I take to make a clean slate?

Thanks in advance, I'm very anxious about this and want to do the right thing.

Just Blue

Never able to pay for anything and I really really struggled to get disability and then I finally got it at 27

I started trading and investing in cryptocurrencies as a hobby never thinking it was going to lead to anything so I just stayed on disability. I had the comfort of having health insurance. even though I was making money in crypto, it didnt feel real to me..like not real money. I never withdrew it.

What state?
I suggest you have a consultation with a criminal defense attorney before heading over to SSA.

adjusterjack