• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I use a Federal Student loan to put a down payment on a house?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jakem8705

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Wisconsin

Okay so I'm a grad student and I'm joining the Army National Guard as a officer and they will pay $40,000 off in federal student loans.

I was wondering if I could get that much in federal student loans could I use that money to put a down payment, down on a house?

Thanks,
-Jake :)

Antigone*

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Wisconsin

Okay so I'm a grad student and I'm joining the Army National Guard as a officer and they will pay $40,000 off in federal student loans.

I was wondering if I could get that much in federal student loans could I use that money to put a down payment, down on a house?

Thanks,
-Jake :)
No, you are supposed to use that for school ~ that is why they are called student loans:rolleyes:. If you will not be using the money to further your education then don't take it.

Jakem8705

No offense but can I please have some legal backing? I'm sick of wasting my money on renting and would really like to buy a house to help my friends who are poor in Milwaukee rent really cheap.

Thanks,
-Jake

John_DFW

No offense but can I please have some legal backing? I'm sick of wasting my money on renting and would really like to buy a house to help my friends who are poor in Milwaukee rent really cheap.

Thanks,
-Jake
You most likely won't get a home loan if the source of the down payment is your student loan, legal or not.

cyjeff

Thanks,
-Jake
You realize, of course, that you will have to show where the money comes from, right?