• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Case for defamation, mental anguish?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

JackM678

Texas

I'm a substitute teacher in Texas. One of the schools I used to be a regular at, I had an incident where a student made a false report of me making a derogatory, sexual remark in class.

I got a call from the Assistant Principal and of course I denied it, because it didn't happen. The thought that anyone could say something like that in the middle of class, and it would go unreported until 5 hours later is just not realistic.

However, he told me he'd get back to me after he investigated, he never did. I was never removed from the system, and jobs with that school were coming as available. I still wanted to hear from him personally though.

I eventually emailed him, and he said based on reports of inappropriate remarks, to not come back to that campus. He wouldn't give me any specifics, wouldn't tell me if anything was even investigated, and prior to this I spent weeks with depression, anxiety, unable to work at full capacity, with the fear that I was being plotted against. I still don't even know.

The truth is, that they probably have nothing, but the kid probably makes up stories and has one of those irate parents who thinks their kid is always right, so they don't want to deal with the turmoil, but to make me the victim is just wrong, immoral, and lacks integrity.