• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Cash out 401 k?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

devilleather

Im a carpenter in Indiana and my employer has recently signed with the union forcing all employees to do the same. My question is since my union now handles my retirement and my employer no longer contributes can I either cash out or roll over my money?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Is the union making contributions to the 401k? Is the 401k frozen? Blacked out?

justalayman

Im a carpenter in Indiana and my employer has recently signed with the union forcing all employees to do the same. My question is since my union now handles my retirement and my employer no longer contributes can I either cash out or roll over my money?
I believe you can do with it as you wish.

If you aren't old enough to begin withdrawal without penalties or valid justification, you will pay a penalty fee for cashing it out. The employers contributions will also be considered income. You will owe taxes on that money.

cbg
Is the union making contributions to the 401k? Is the 401k frozen? Blacked out?
maybe this will help.

he was a non-union carpenter. The employer established a 401k for the employees. The employer has now become a signatory to the union contract and the employer has terminated contributions to the 401k as the employees are covered by a pension through the union.

the only part I don't know is if the union has a 401k for the employees but that shouldn't change anything, I don't think.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl