• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Changing hours/liability

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

N

Needshelp

I am a Respiratory Therapist at aHospital in Connecticut...Due to lay-offs and people quitting, several night (11PM-7AM) shifts are open. My employer is FORCING me to do some night shifts, I generally work 7AM -3PM.

I have expressed my concerns to her that I will be unable to stay awake all night, and that when tired, I dont think straight and make stupid mistakes and I cant be responsible for any errors I make due to lack of sleep.

She told me I HAVE to be responsible for my actions and deal with it.

Is there any legal way I can get out of this? I will be the only one on this shift so theres no-one to call to bail me out when my mind goes to mush! Im really afraid I could lose my license if I should make an error.

Thanks,

CPR girl...

R

rbenefit

If you don't have an employment contract, in most states the employer can change your hours at will. You have the right to protest with your HR department. But, if they stick to their guns, you will have to work the hours or quit. I had a similar situation happen to me in the state of Ohio. The only way I avoided it was when hired I had specified the hours and days I was available for employment. My "at will" employment status changed to "employment contract" at that point because the company agreed to those terms. The problem was the company didn't know what they had done. After my attorney talked with them they understood completely... I would check with your state's Department of Labor just to see if you have a leg to stand on with the hospital. Hope that helps you.

A

Attorney_Replogle