• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

College Screwed Up Financial Aid

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

JohnWRD

Hi all. I'm currently a grad student at CPP, scheduled to graduate in the Spring. I've been waiting for a while to receive my financial aid, and when I did, it wasn't what I was told I would be receiving. They took over a month to correct a mistake on my account (they had my name listed slightly wrong), and when the Financial Aid was released, they didn't offer me anything. I called and they said they ran out of funds before they could finish processing their correction, but they might able to send it when they receive more funding so I can pay for my next semester. This is my last semester. They also said I must pay by next week, and if not I won't graduate. I was relying on that FA to pay, and now I don't know what to do. They've also previously refused to give me the scholarship I was awarded because there was a mistake in the listing. Is there anything I can do?

quincy

California State Polytechnic, Pomona?

You need to work with the financial aid department.

JohnWRD

California State Polytechnic, Pomona?

You need to work with the financial aid department.
Yes. I tried. I was on hold for nearly an hour only for them to dismiss me and tell me that they didn't create my package on time - which, I'm not entirely sure what they meant because they wouldn't explain it to me. I'm planning on stopping by their office later, but I don't know if I even have any rights in this matter.

quincy