• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Common Law Marriage

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

miaguy

What is the name of your state? Florida

My lady friend has four children and her common law husband died 2 months ago. They where toguether 5 years. Well, the guy was very well off. There are hundred of thousands of dollars sitting in the bank, 5 vehicles, a boat, a house and an apartment on the beach. The problem is that everything is on his name. Like I said, they where never married but all the kids carry his last name, all them are his. His family, sisters, mother etc...are interested on his finances, they want a piece of the pie. She does not know what to do and I am not a lawyer. I told her to get a lawyer but she would like to know where she stands. Any advise?

JETX

If your 'friend' lives in Florida, that state does NOT recognize common law marriage.

Common law marriage is recognized only in the following states:
-Alabama
-Colorado
-District of Columbia
-Georgia (if created before 1/1/97)
-Idaho (if created before 1/1/96)
-Iowa
-Kansas
-Montana
-New Hampshire (for inheritance purposes only)
-Ohio (if created before 10/10/91)
-Oklahoma
-Pennsylvania
-Rhode Island
-South Carolina
-Texas
-Utah

As such, she does not have rights of beneficiary without being listed in her will.

Last edited:

miaguy

Clear that up please

So that means his family gets everything if there is no will. What about the kids?

gowest