• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Contract signed then using suspension as discipline

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Madorkabell

I am in Georgia. I work in a specialized field and am exempt. I have been working for this employer for about 7 months.
I recently had the employer send me home on a one day suspension because it was my week on call and I took a vacation day to go to my spouse's grandmother's funeral. I missed two emails during the vacation day I took. The response was that he sent me home the next day after I came in with no pay.
My question is that when I was hired, I signed a no compete contract. I was told I was not allowed to do any work in my field outside of what I did in the business and had to drop all of my personal clients I had on the side from before I was working there. I was told specifically that I had to stop any work for anyone I knew. With this in mind, is it legal for them to use suspension with no pay as a form of disciplinary action considering I have signed a contract saying i can not make up this money outside of working for them?

PayrollHRGuy

There are problems with that but they have nothing to do with your non-compete or your inability to "make it up" with outside work.

According to https://webapps.dol.gov/elaws/whd/flsa/overtime/cr5.htm#2

Under what circumstances can an exempt employee be suspended without pay?