• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Contractor signed on my LLC's behalf

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

smutlydog

Texas
I am a home builder and have no one else listed in the LLC documents. The most important contractor who handles managing all the crews uses one of my credit cards. He has been using the card for 3 years now. Six months ago he let a magazine company talk him into a year contract for advertising. The total was about $6,000 divided by 12 months. The contractor told me he would pay and he did for several months but he finally realized he was scammed and he asked me to change my credit card number which I did. Now a debt collector is threatening a lawsuit. He signed his own name on my company's behalf. I have good credit and don't need this. Where do I legally stand on this? thanks in advance

Last edited:

zddoodah

I am a home builder and have no one else listed in the LLC documents. The most important contractor who handles managing all the crews uses one of my credit cards. He has been using the card for 3 years now.
So...you are the sole member of an LLC that is a home builder, and you have someone managing your crews whom you regard as a "contractor," rather than an employee. Correct? Why do you believe this person is a contractor, rather than an employee? With respect to the credit card, I assume the credit account is in the LLC's name. Correct?

Six months ago he let a magazine company talk him into a year contract for advertising.
Advertising what? Your business? His business?